My Dad + My Pops= Me

My dad is real cool in my eyes because he can be like my big brother and my best friend all rolled into one person. He is someone who I can talk to about anything and not be judged for my mistakes. Yet when I am wrong, he is someone who will let me know that I am wrong and he will definitely put me in my place at the same time. We can hangout talk and have a few “cold ones” or our favorite drink Remy Martin VSOP. He is someone who I really look up to and I want to make him proud of me. I always wanted to be a dad just like him, but only better. Now I am not saying he is/was a bad dad, I always wanted to be like him, yet be my own man and teach my kids to be a better dad than me. My dad is the best dad and I love him and I want to thank him for always being apart of my life.

Now my pops is somewhat different than my dad. He is real cool, but he is so laid back that it seems as if nothing bothers him at all. He reminds me a lot like James Bond (007), but cooler. I can talk to him also, but his answers seem to come out in a smooth but stern tone like Barry White (RIP). He makes me think about my mistakes and how I can better myself as a dad and as a man also. My pops is funny as hell too and he can make you laugh and feel better at the same damn time regardless of the situation. This man has been there for me in my time of needs and I love him for anything and everything that he has done for me.

With these two dudes on my side, how can I loose?? Some people can’t say that they have two fathers, let alone one father. Well I am proud to say that I have two fathers and I will do everything within my power and make them both proud of me. Love you guys and thanks for everything.

Final Thought: My mom use to tell me when I was younger that my dad is my father (her ex-husband) and my pops (her husband) was my father too. Now back then I was confused, but as I got older I understood what she meant by that. I had the advantage of having two adult men to learn from and I should respect then both no matter what.  I wanted to post this on father’s day, but a lot has been going on (yeah I know I am bit late for father’s day right?). I just wanted to acknowledge these two gentleman and thank them from the bottom of my heart for everything that they have done for me. There was a time when I would complain to my dad about my pops when I was a kid. My dad told me that I better respect my pops or he (my dad) would beat my behind. Okay I tried to flip the script and complain to my pops about my dad. My pops told me that if I didn’t give my dad the respect that he deserves, he (my pops) would beat my behind. Damn that, that’s too many ass whippings for one kid to endure. Don’t you agree?? Thanks for reading…

Spread the word and follow me…(M.Bowlding/copyright/7-02-15)

Leave a Reply

