The Depression Stage

There are a lot of things that can cause depression in one’s life. It may start when we lose at love, when we lose a job, when we have money issues, or when a loved one passes on. First the tears come, second the confusion sets in and then the self pity party begins. There are doctors who may say “take this pill and you will be alright”. I say damn a pill!! My advice and the advice given to me is/was talk to someone you can trust like a close friend, a relative, a counselor etc. Also try to find a hobby that you enjoy and keep your focus on the good things in life. Who am I to tell anyone what to do you may ask? Let’s just say I have been there before and I know the feeling. And this statement is for the “you know who you are” person that was in my life at one point. Men do cry in the dark; I know because I have cried a 1,000 tears in the dark because of you. Here’s #1,001 (*).

Final Thought: This thing called depression is a harmful and hurtful thing that can affect anyone’s life and the people around them. I can say I have experienced depression and I have my days when the weight of the world is on my shoulders. I had to learn how to open up and share what issues I had. Do I think I have beat depression? I don’t know maybe, maybe not. But I will keep on trying to have a good outlook on life. I am in no way shape or form claiming to be an expert on dealing with depression. I am only speaking from past experiences. I have lost two of my best friends to depression and they both shot themselves. It bothers me a lot because I felt like I could have done so much more to save them. Plus I want to know why would they do that. One of my buddies shot himself in front of his lady and a few years later, my other buddy shot himself while at work. I wish depression never existed. Rest In Peace to my buddies, Robin Williams, and others. My heart and prayers go out to the families and friends who have lost anyone to depression. Thanks for reading…

Spread the word and follow me… (M.Bowlding/copyright/8-12-14)  

Leave a Reply

